My Life As A Teenage Chef

Just another WordPress.com site

Childlike Faith January 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — waterwalkerla @ 11:18 am

This isn’t a cooking post, but I just felt led to post this.

I love my Five-year-old sister Linden. She’s hilarious, beautiful, logical, and goofy. She’s my little twin, and we are so much alike. Don’t get me wrong, we do have our arguments, and our differences. She can be cranky and stubborn, and I can be grumpy and a little bossy. Neither of us are perfect, but that just makes our relationship stronger.

In the church coffee shop.

Feeding birds at the zoo.

My big girl, riding a horse by herself!

Christmas Day, you can see how much we look alike.

Another thing I love about Linden is how excited she gets. She gets really excited, a lot. One of the things she gets really excited about is going to church. She loves to talk about God, read Bible Stories, and learn verses. She recently told me that she didn’t like school, because they didn’t teach her about God! Last night, She was really concerned about her friends from school, wondering if they knew about Jesus. This challenged me, because I don’t always think of my friends like that. But then I saw part of myself in her: The fear. The fear of what other people will think. The fear that keeps me from doing what I know I should.

As I was thinking about this, some Bible verses came to my mind:

1 Timothy 4:12 Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.
Matthew 18:3 And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 19:4 Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

God tells us to come to Him with a simple childlike faith, knowing that when He says He’ll do something, He will.  He tells us not to let people “look down on” us because of our age. We are to set an example, no matter how young we are.  He promises He’ll take care of “His children” forever, and that no one will be able to take us out of His “hands.”  When you accept Christ as your Lord and Savior, you become a child of God, and you are supposed to grow. We can’t stay a young child forever, but we will always be His child. We are to grow, and learn to “eat the meat of the word,” or be able to study and learn.

This seems like an easy concept, but it is so hard to live out in real life. Be like Linden, be concerned. Be excited. But don’t just be concerned or excited, be willing to do what God asks. Know that He will keep His promises, and He will care for His children. Come to Him as a little child.

2 Timothy 1:7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

 

Leave a Reply

