My Life As A Teenage Chef

Just another WordPress.com site

A yummy lunch, and a personal accomplishment! July 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — waterwalkerla @ 3:15 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Homeade Corn Dogs!!(:

 

Soo, it was 1:00. And the sibs and I couldn’t find anything to eat for lunch.

 

So, being myself, I just decided to look for something simple to eat. I remembered that we had a package of hotdogs in the fridge, but none of us really like them plain. So I thought I would look for a corn dog recipe. Thank you Foodgawker for finding me one!

Before we go any further, you probably don’t know this about me, but whenever I try to make something new, I get nervous. I mean really REALLY nervous. So I don’t normally try new recipes by myself, but we were really hungry. So I tried making these, and they weren’t that bad! A little difficult at first and I made a few mistakes, but they turned out better than I expected! Big accomplishment for this girl! (: They were a little bland, but a little ketchup cured that. I did them in our fryer, and I might have to make a few adjustments next time I do that. But here’s the recipe!

Adapted from A Cozy Kitchen:

(The recipe says it makes 4, but I got 8 out of it. I think 6 is the sweet spot though!)

2/3 cups of all-purpose flour
1/2 cup of yellow corn meal
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
1/4  teaspoon of baking soda
1/4 teaspoon of cayenne
1 egg
3/4 cup of milk
4 hot dogs or veggie dogs
4 tablespoons of cornstarch (for dredging)
4 skewers (cut to a 6 inch length)

Line a plate or baking sheet with paper towels, for when the corn dogs are done frying.

Pour your oil in a cast iron skillet, dutch oven, or deep fryer.  Heat over medium-high heat until your thermometer reads 375F.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, yellow corn meal, baking powder, salt, baking soda and cayenne. In a large bowl whisk the egg and milk.  Then add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients all at once, mixing until just combined. Let it rest for 10 minutes. She transferred hers to a skinnier cup to dip, and I think it definitely made it easier!

While your batter is resting, lay your cornstarch on a baking sheet or big plate.  Place each hot dog on a skewer and roll in the cornstarch, being sure to pat off any excess.  Then quickly dip the hot dog in and out of the batter. Immediately place the corn dog in the hot oil. (Do it fast, because the batter was runny!) Be careful! The oil will be hot and may splash back at you.  Cook until the coating is golden brown, 4-5 minutes.  Remove with tongs and place on paper towels for draining.  Serve and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

